October 25th 2018 03:15 PM - October 25th 2018 05:00 PM

President's Awards for Community-Engaged Scholarship

100 Main Street West, Hamilton, ON, Canada

President's Awards for Community-Engaged Scholarship


Join President Patrick Deane to celebrate the inaugural President’s Awards for Community Engaged Scholarship, which will recognize teams of campus and community representatives who have demonstrated a commitment to initiating and supporting excellence in community-campus research initiatives.

2018 Award Recipients:

We Are Not the Others

Mirna Carranza, School of Social Work
Nora Melara-López,Emergency Support Committee for Refugees
Inés Rios, Immigrants Working Centre
María Antelo, Hamilton Community Legal Clinic

Grand River Mohawk at McMaster

Ima Johnson, Mohawk teacher and Faith Keeper
Laurie Powless, Geeg Hill, Scott Longboat, Amber Squire, Six Nations Polytechnic
Kate Brown, Jill Rogers, John Hill, Clare Richardson, Mary-Ellen Simon, & Josh Dockstator, Indigenous Studies Program
Rick Monture, English & Cultural Studies and Indigenous Studies Program


2018 Nominees: 

Partnering for Change

Stephanie Baker Collins, Associate Professor, School of Social Work
Ann Fudge Schormans, Associate Professor, School of Social Work
Erika Morton, Street Involved Youth Project, Social Planning and Research Council of Hamilton

Breast Cancer Research and Outreach for Women of African Ancestry

Juliet Daniel, Professor, Department of Biology
The Olive Branch of Hope
Black Aspiring Physicians at McMaster

Sexual Assault Centres in the #MeToo Era

Tina Fetner, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology
Lenore Lukasik-Foss, Director, SACHA Sexual Assault Centre of Hamilton

Hamilton Nurse-Family Partnership Team

Jennifer Vickers Manzin, Director, Family Health Division, Hamilton Public Health Services
Bonnie King, Manager, Family Health Division, Hamilton Public Health Services
Dianne Busser, NFP Supervisor, Family Health Division, Hamilton Public Health Services
Lindsay Croswell, Ontario Clinical Lead, Family Health Division, Hamilton Public Health Services
Harriet MacMillan, Professor, Departments of Pediatrics and Psychiatry & Behavioural Neurosciences, Offord Centre for Child Studies
Susan Jack, Assistant Professor, School of Nursing, Offord Centre for Child Studies
Andrea Gonzalez, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioural Neurosciences, Offord Centre for Child Studies 

FIREWELL Partnership

Joy MacDermid, Professor, School of Rehabilitation Science
Rob D’Amico, Secretary, Hamilton Professional Firefighters Association & Captain, Hamilton Fire Department

Training Peers to Deliver Cognitive Behavioural Therapy for Postpartum Depression

Ryan Van Lieshout, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences
Sharon Brooks, Executive Director, Kids Can Fly



McMaster Office of Community Engagement

At McMaster University we’re working hard to foster ongoing collaboration with our community partners through research, teaching and service.

Ticket Information

Please note that your tickets will be email to you and attached as a PDF upon successfully registering for this event. In the event that you have either not received your confirmation email, cannot find the confirmation email, or used an incorrect email address, please contact the organizer.

All ticket holders will receive an email notification reminder 24-48 hours prior to the event's start date (this does not imply particular sessions, just the event). Your tickets will also be attached to this email.

It's encouraged to save your tickets to your phone by downloading them or taking a screenshot, however you may also print your tickets before arriving to the event.